Sharon and Vasken Hagopian with the first Hagopian Family Award recipient, Sergei Gleyzer (middle).

The Hagopian Family Fund celebrates the contributions of Sharon and Vasken Hagopian to the FSU High Energy Physics (HEP) program at Florida State University. The fund supports both an award, a lectureship, and support for Phi Beta Kappa membership for FSU physics majors.

Vasken Hagopian joined the faculty of the Florida State University physics department in 1970 as an Associate Professor and rose through the ranks to become the Joseph Lannutti Professor of Physics. Sharon Hagopian joined FSU as a Staff Physicist in 1975. For more than 40 years the Hagopians were foundational in all of the activities of the FSU HEP group.

The Hagopian Family Award is given annually to recognize and support one or more graduate students doing their dissertation in high energy physics.

Year Recipient(s)
2021 TBD
2020 Diogenes Figueroa
Redwan Habibullah
2019 Daniel Diaz
2018 Arash Yunesi
2017 Andrew Ackert
Steven Honeywell
2016 Samuel Bein
Ajeeta Khatiwada
2015 Jordon Adams
David Westmark
2014 Brendan Diamond
Nobuo Sato
2012 Joseph Bochenek
Karoline Köpp
2011 Heribertus Hartanto
Venkatesh Veeraraghavan
2010 Jeff Haas
Paolo Rottmann
2009 Sergei Gleyzer

The Hagopian Family Fund also supports an annual Lectureship. The first Hagopian Family Lecturer was Joseph Incandela (UC, Santa Barbara) on April 17, 2014.

Year Lecturer
2021 Randall Ruchti
(University of Notre Dame)
2018 Ani Aprahamian
(University of Notre Dame)
2017 Sally Dawson
(Brookhavan National Lab)
2016 Edward "Rocky" Kolb
(U. of Chicago)
2015 Chris Quigg
2014 Joseph Incandela
(UC Santa Barbara)

The Hagopian Family Fund also pays the initiation fee for physics majors elected to Phi Beta Kappa.

Donations to the Hagopian Family Fund can be made through the FSU Foundation.

Created Mar. 22, 2013 - TA, modified Mar. 16, 2021 - TA